Holding the Door

Last night, as I was walking toward a building, I was startled by a man.  Why was I startled?  Because he rushed up to me.  When I realized that he had done the rushing so he would make it to the door before me in order to be able to open it for me, I felt a little silly.

And then I was impressed.  Most people will hold the door open if they pass through it and you’re right on their heels.  Normally, they won’t wait if it is more than one or two seconds before the person following them reaches the door.  I’ve never had someone rush to the door to be able to open it for me.

I wasn’t able to properly thank the man for his kindness because he was on the phone.  I wanted to gush all over him to let him know how much I appreciated what he had done and how special it had made me feel.  I wanted to tell him that such kindnesses aren’t offered any more, which made his actions feel way above and beyond.

Unfortunately, all I could do was smile at him in thanks.

How sad is it that such kindnesses are so out of the ordinary that it leaves an impression on us.  The world used to offer such things on daily basis.  I guess all I can do is try to offer it when I can and really appreciate it when it’s offered to me.

I’ll leave you with a thought a friend shared on Facebook today – “Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.”

Leave a Reply

