Enough

I’ve seen my mother eat a banana and say, “I’m so full!”  I remember thinking she was nuts!  I mean, it took a sandwich, chips, a drink, a banana and some dessert for me to not be hungry.  Full wasn’t even in the equation.

When going to a fast food restaurant, she would order a small order of french fries and a milkshake and say that she was full.  Are you kidding me?!  I would eat a large sandwich, large fries, and a milkshake.  My appetite was slaked, but I wasn’t full.

Lately, I’ve found myself becoming full and on much less than I used to eat.  Every now and then I eat a whole lot (for a special meal of some sort), but for the most part every one of my meals averages at 300 calories.  Granted, I’ve learned to make the most of my 300 calories, but I’m still limited.

Last night, I had a new experience which surprised me.

My sister has previously told me that if you get a really good piece of chocolate, it satisfies without needing a whole lot.  For someone who can very easily down a cup of peanut M&Ms, that idea was foreign to me. 

Last night, I dug around in my Christmas candy and pulled out a Lindor Truffle.  Actually, I pulled out four.  I ate one and found that I didn’t have a need for the others.  It really was unexpected.  The smooth creaminess combined with the wonderful taste satisfied my craving for sweets.  I was ecstatic!

Unfortunately, I’ve also had another surprise.  I tweaked my ankle the other day.  As a child, I sprained my ankle so if I don’t take care of it, it can act up from time to time.  I stepped on some uneven ground the other day, which has given me some problems.  I’ve had my foot snuggly set into a brace for the last few days, but it’s driving me nuts!  I don’t want to be taking it easy on my ankle – I want to be walking and losing weight.  I don’t want to have to start over with my fitness level.  Argh!

I’ve learned that our bodies tell us what they need.  This tweaked ankle makes me think that I need to take a short break (my body is kinda forcing it).  It’s my body’s way of saying it’s had enough for a bit.  I can’t afford for it to get any worse, so I have to baby it until it’s all better.  Ugh! 

I can do this.

I think I can!  I think I can!

Leave a Reply

