Boring is in the Eye of the Beholder

Oh my goodness!  So, I’m reading this book and I find myself skimming through entire pages.  Last night, it was two pages.  Granted, I was really tired last night, but I still shouldn’t feel the need to skim any pages.  I should be glued to every single word.

Why am I skimming?  Because I couldn’t care less about what the author has written.  Truthfully, I’m not exactly sure why she took the time to write it.  I’m positive she had a reason, but I’m not sure what it is.  All I know is that I can’t force myself to read it.

Don’t get me wrong – overall, I really like the books (it’s a series).  I care about the main characters, I am enthralled as I read about what’s going on in their lives.  I won’t stop reading them just because of the author’s affinity to write things about which I couldn’t care less.

What is it that’s so boring?  Details.  Lots and lots of details which have absolutely nothing to do with the plot.  She tells us (in great depth) exactly what the scenery is like.  Not just what it looks like, but how it was made, and how it has evolved over the millenia.  She goes on and on about what an animal looks like.  Seriously – an entire page to describe an animal’s appearance.  Last night, it was two pages about plants – what they look like, how they can be used (internally and externally), what living creature it can harm, etc.  OH MY GOSH!!!  I like plants and all, but I just kinda skimmed each paragraph to make sure she was still droning and then turned the page.

What does this have to do with me?  I’m afraid that I might have done that.  I’m sure that I’ve done that in the past, I just don’t know whether or not I’ve done it in my most recent book.  I think the author is trying to share information.  Either that, or she’s just showing off info she gathered while doing research for her book. 

I know I’ve done that.  I’ve given too much detail just to prove that I know what I’m saying is plausible.  My books are fiction – possibly fantasy.  Nobody needs to know that it’s grounded in reality.  Actually, they might reject that.  A fantasy book is supposed to be just that – fantasy.  The reader wants to get lost in this make-believe world and not be sucked back to reality so the author can prove she knows what she’s talking about.

Actually, I’m really glad the author did it.  It really made me aware of what I don’t want in my books.  Now, I get to go back through and make sure I don’t have anything like that in my book.

Ugh!  More work!

Leave a Reply

