May Day

So, today is May Day.  That just brings back such happy childhood feelings that I have to blog about it.

When I was little, we lived in a tiny town called “Valley City.”  It was in North Dakota, and I’d be extremely surprised if anyone’s heard of it.  I think it’s one of those town which you’d miss if you blinked as you passed.  And it was idyllic.  I felt safe, happy, and loved there.  Kids ran around free, getting into very minor trouble (I stole pea pods from a neighbor’s yard, once), staying active and having fun.  It was wonderful!

On May Day, my brother and I sat at the dining room table with my mother, some styrofoam (yes, I said styrofoam) cups and some candy.  We put the candy into the cups, wrote our friends’ names on the outside of the cups, and did some scheming.  Together, we ran to our friends’ houses, set the appropriate cups on their front porch, rang the doorbell, and then ran around the side of the house to see them open the door, spy the treats, and then see if they could find us and/or figure out who had left them.

Luckily, we weren’t the only ones who did it.  We also received our little goodies.  It was a tradition the whole town enjoyed.

And I miss it.  Was it just done in that little down?  Or was it just done in a time when people weren’t afraid of razor blades in candy?  Where did that fun tradition go?  Truthfully, I wish it would come back.  I wish my children had been able to enjoy it as much as I did.  Honestly, I’m really sad that they never got to do it.

So, today, I’m working on a way to still keep some of the joy alive with my own children.  Even though they’re almost grown, I’m still trying to figure out how to share it with them.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

