Starting Over. Again.

So I have some news.  I was supposed to have good news, but it didn’t turn out that way.  I knew my three-month (temporary) contract had expired.  I went to the company to ask if they were going to hire me.  They prepared an offer and gave it to me.

A DOLLAR LESS AN HOUR THAN WHAT I’M MAKING NOW!!!!

Did you hear that noise?  That was them slapping me in the face.

I said no, that my family can’t survive on that.  They understood and said I could keep my temporary position until I found another job.  Well, at least there’s that.

I called my placement agency to tell them I needed to find another job.  I’ve been without benefits for over a year now.  I need to see a doctor and a dentist at some point.  I need to have wisdom teeth pulled and I should have a physician check me out at some point.  Plus I need a vacation.  I literally can’t remember the last time I had a vacation that lasted more than 3 days.

My placement agencies response?  “Oh!  Don’t look for another job yet!  Let us talk with the president!  It’s our job to negotiate for you!”

Huh.  Well, let’s see – I’ve worked 10 hour days to help them out, I have to caffeinate myself to keep from falling asleep, one boss yells all day long while the other will chat with everyone in the entire company but me, one of my co-workers will sigh at me every time I dare bother her to ask her a question, the money wasn’t that great, and now they tell me how much they think of me by offering to cut my pay.  Why would I want to stay there?

So, on my way home, I called all of my contacts to see if anyone has anything for me.  I don’t expect anything to come of that, but at least I felt productive.  I’m too tired to start the job search in earnest, but at least I did that.  I’ll get a good night’s sleep tonight and start tomorrow after work.  I had planned on pulling a 10 hour day to help them out, but I seem to have Short-Timer’s disease now.  I really have no desire to put anything extra into it.  Plus, I can use that extra time to look for a job.

I really hate the idea of going through the process all over again, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

Leave a Reply

