Learning About Myself Through Dating

So, I had a “Duh!” moment today.  If the idea of getting naked in front of a man makes me cry, I think there’s a problem.  I think it’s time to start losing weight again.

A dear friend once said that I have to love my body in order to lose weight.  Um… if I loved my body, I wouldn’t want to change it and therefore I wouldn’t lose weight.

I’ve also heard that we all need to love our bodies to show our daughters that we are beautiful no matter what our shape.  And yet doctors say otherwise.  We need to be healthy, which includes being within a certain BMI.  Otherwise, we’re at risk for heart disease, diabetes, cancer, and many other ailments that can be hindered by being healthy.

With all of that said, I’m starting (again) to lose weight (hopefully).  I went for a walk today and it felt amazing to be out in the fresh air, moving.  Tomorrow I’m going hiking.  I hope to make this a habit.  I know how to lose weight – I’ve done it before.  It’s just something I need to make time for.  I need to make it a priority.

I need to make my health a priority.

No, I’m not doing it for Mr. Mustang.  He claims he likes me as-is.  I’m doing it for me.  Truthfully, I’m not even sure anything will happen with Mr. Mustang.

In the meantime, I’ve hidden my dating profiles.  If something does happen with him, it makes sense to not have it up.  Even if nothing does happen, I’m going to keep my profile hidden until I can feel better about my body.  That may be a year, and I’m okay with that.  I do single far too well to let that stop me.

Leave a Reply

