Not Slapped, Per Se

I have a strained relationship with a family member.  I had hoped that over time, we would be able to discuss it and find our way back to each other.  I wasn’t rushing anything, because I felt that giving her time and space was appropriate.  I had hoped that someday she would contact me, interested in re-establishing contact.

Today, she did.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t anything like I had hoped.

She chastised me (for something I hadn’t even done wrong which made me really mad!), made demands of me, and told me what she thought of me.   Had it just been that, I could have brushed it off.  Hurt feelings.  I get it.

But, then I read the closing of her letter.  It was like a slap in the face.  I wanted to retaliate – to offend her as she had offended me.  Luckily, I was able to think before I hit the “send” button and deleted what I had written, knowing it wouldn’t help the situation at all.

What did she say, you ask?  She said, “God bless you.”  Now, to most, that doesn’t seem like a big deal.  I get it.  But, once you know the situation, it becomes clearer.  I do not believe in the Christian God.  At all.  She knows how I feel about it.  She chose that closing specifically to offend me.

I think that’s the part that bothers me the most – the fact that she had chosen the one closing that would offend me the most.  Had she told me to eff off, I could have handled that better.  That just shows that she’s hurt and angry.  She intentionally chose that closing specifically to hurt and offend me.

So, I won’t worry about that relationship anymore.  If that’s the way she wants to be, I have no room in my life for someone who is so disrespectful of my beliefs and feelings.

It’s sad, but I can’t change others.  I’m only responsible for my life.

Leave a Reply

