NaNoWriMo Vs. Christmas

Normally, I would be spending a part of these few days before Thanksgiving doing Christmas activities: making or buying presents, wrapping presents, planning what I’m going to make or buy for people, etc.

Not this year.  This year, I’m working to get my book done.

It’s so unusual for me!  Christmas really IS the most wonderful time of the year for me.  I look forward to it all year long, shopping and stashing gifts as soon as the new year hits.  I get all sorts of silly when Christmas music begins playing on the radio (which it has been, for almost a week now).  Christmas makes me happy.

There’s a part of me that wishes I was wrapping presents instead of trying to figure out how to get more words into my story.  But, I have a goal and I am one who strives to reach goals which are set, no matter what.  Usually, I try to complete my goal before my deadline (which I did, and insanely set a new goal for myself to write a second one.)

And so, Christmas waits.

In a way, it kinda makes December more special.  I can celebrate Christmas and achieving my goal all in the same month.

Leave a Reply

