Not Normal

So, I awoke around 2:30 this morning.  I tossed and turned for about half an hour, hoping to return to sleep.

Yah, not gonna happen.

I just have too much on my mind.  On Monday morning, I have to walk a resume into a doctor’s office in the next town over.  Early afternoon, I have an interview in Seattle (I HATE driving in Seattle).  So, not only am I worried about the interview, I’m also concerned with the drive to Seattle and finding parking.

And then on Friday, I have the interview which is really stressing me out.  I live just a few blocks from the local school district’s central office.  I would LOVE to work there, for so many reasons, so I have applied for every job for which I might be qualified.  A couple of days ago, I got a hit from one of those applications and I have “a short getting-to-know-you” interview scheduled for Friday.  Huh?

They aren’t going to ask about my qualifications, but they’re going to see if my personality would be a good fit for their organization.  Actually, that’s the part that stresses me out the least – I have a great personality (at least in my professional life),  And yet, I’m still stressed about it because working at that school district would be my first choice, so I really don’t want to mess this up.

And then there’s the fact that if I’m offered both jobs, I would be offered the Monday job first (those wheels turn faster than the school district wheels).  Do I take the Monday job (if offered) because “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush” (with which I absolutely don’t agree) or do I say “No, thank you” in hopes that I’m possibly offered the school district job?

So, I’m wide awake at 3:00.  What do I do?  I grab my computer to work on my NaNoWriMo book a little bit more.  I mean, what else is there to do, right?

That’s not normal, is it?

Leave a Reply

