Feeling Like a Failure???

I wrote my first NaNoWriMo book in 13 days.  Quite pleased with myself, I decided to challenge myself and write another one.

Big mistake!

For some reason, this second one isn’t going nearly as smoothly.  In truth, this has been the hardest book I’ve ever tried to write.  Historically, the books I’ve written have basically written themselves, the words just pouring out of my fingertips when I sit down at my keyboard.

Apparently, 70,000 words is my creative limit.  I feel like I’ve hit a brick wall.  I have to write 30,000 words in just a few days.  Technically, if I just sat down for the next few days, I could do it.

If my creative juices hadn’t run dry.

And if I didn’t have a life which included carting a son around.

And appointments to keep.

And life.

At this point, I’ve all but given up on my second book (at least for now – as I figure it, I’ve got at least three years to complete it).  And I feel like a failure, which is just so silly!  I did what I set out to do – I wrote a book (and a half) in a month.  For some reason, I feel like I’ve let myself down for not finishing the second one.

If I really push, I could get it done.  Should I push, or should I just let it go?

2 Comments

  1. Finish it, don’t finish it. Enjoy the process. Learning your limits and pushing through them is the purpose of NaNoWriMo, I think. I know my limits and a novel in a month is still beyond me. One and a half is exceptional.
    Congratulations! Don’t be disappointed. You are not a failure for not finishing the second one.

    • Thanks. Yah, I have to keep reminding myself that a book and a half in a month is pretty darn good.

Leave a Reply

