A Pep Talk?

For the month of November, I have my homepage set to the NaNoWriMo page.  I see that I have new mail, I go to the page, I see that it’s only a “Pep Talk,” I click on it to clear out the notification, and then I move on without reading it.

I don’t need a pep talk – I need my book to start writing itself!

For some reason, I read it today.  And it was just what I needed!  It told me that I don’t have to kill myself to finish my book.  It said that I can forgive myself if it doesn’t happen.  It said that I can finish it in the months that follow.

That took the stress out of it and made it fun again.  Will it make my book any easier to write?  I don’t know, but it made my life easier.  Today, I have to study for a few hours and then take a few tests.  Tomorrow, I have to do my job search (technically, I don’t have to because I’ve already made my three “contacts” I have to make for unemployment insurance, but I’m not just doing this to collect money – I actually want a job!)  I’ve been worried about how I would do all of the things I need to do and still put in the time required to finish my book.  Now, I don’t have to worry about it.  The “pep talk” today gave me the right to say, “I did okay.  Next year I’ll do better.”

So, I’ll still put some time into seeing if I can write 28,000 words in three days, but I’m not going to cry if I don’t succeed.

I mean – I have already finished a book and half.  That’s not bad, right?

2 Comments

  1. 28,000 words in three days? I am dying to see if you can do this. Best of luck. ❤

    • It’s much easier for those of us who are unemployed. Right now, it’s my lack of creativity which is holding me back.

Leave a Reply

