Gotta Wait

This was the first year I participated in NaNoWriMo.  Why?  Because I’d always been working on other books and didn’t want to deviate from them.  This year, I was close enough to finishing another book that I felt the timing was right that I could participate in the writing challenge.

Now what?  Now I go back to the book I had been working on before NaNo.  It’s so close to being done that I’m a breath away from submitting to agents.  I need to go through it one more time and it will be time to submit it.

But, I just found out that I need to wait about two months before I can actually do so.  There is a problem about which I just found out of which I need to be careful.  Apparently, in the two months following NaNoWriMo, a bunch of really bad manuscripts are submitted to agents and publishers, seeking publication.  Just because authors completed a 50,000 word novel, they believe they are good writers.

I, too, wrote a 50,000 word novel in the month of November.  I did it in 13 days.  Does that mean it’s any good?  Nope.  It just means I had enough time in my month to string a bunch of words together.  Just because you won the challenge doesn’t mean you have a book which is ready for the world to see.

As a result, in December and January, agents and publishing houses are inundated with a bunch of really bad books.  They are forced to plow through so many books that they only give them half of the attention that they deserve.  They don’t really take the manuscripts seriously.

So, I have to wait.  For two more months, I need to sit on my manuscript, tinkering with it, improving it.  I think it’s going to drive me nuts!  I’ve been anxiously waiting to submit, painfully close for years.  And now that I’m one and a half steps from doing so, I am forcing myself to wait even longer.

Ugh!  It’s almost painful!

3 Comments

  1. Great job on finishing a novel that is ready to be submitted! I’m interested to hear how it all goes 🙂

    • Thanks. That’s sweet. If/when I get published, I will be sure to post it on here!

      • I’m glad 🙂 Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

