The Calm Between the Interesting

My life is blissfully uneventful.  I like it that way.

And then I remember my past.  I also liked the interesting stuff.  I miss the interesting stuff, but it seems like I can’t have interesting stuff without drama.  I’m going to need to figure out how to have one without the other.

Today, I was thinking about all of the stuff that I’ve done.

Before graduating high school, I:

  • sang Beethoven in the Seattle Opera House
  • danced with a professional ballroom dancer
  • choreographed an entire high school concert
  • tutored deaf children
  • hiked around a mountain with only what I carried on my back

After graduating, I:

  • volunteered with an amazing group of teenagers
  • found my spiritual grounding
  • started my own business
  • began believing in myself
  • wrote five books – one and a half of those in a month

And now I’m just a drone.  I go to work.  I come home.  I make dinner.  Rinse.  And repeat.

And I’m okay with it.  This is my life right now.  This is the part where I focus on my son and enjoy my time with him.  This is the time where I can sit back and figure out what I need to do to make my future happen.

I don’t know how long this time will last.  Honestly, I wouldn’t mind if it didn’t last long, but I’m going to make the most of it.  Nothing as grandiose as singing in the Opera House, but trying new recipes, making new friends, and creating memories with those I love – those all sound pretty cool, too.

And the in my future, I will do things like:

  • become rich and famous
  • see my books on The Big Screen
  • pay it forward to women who will go through what I went through
  • build my mansion
  • travel to the places in my books – and more
  • maybe adopt some children to give them a home
  • maybe find love (not holding my breath – my life is whole without a partner)

Life is such an adventure.  This little bit is my breather, so I’m gonna sit back and make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

