That’s Stupid!

I was cruising around on Facebook today when I saw this:

stupid

After reading it, I thought, “That’s stupid.”

And then I thought, “Have we become so pathetic as a society that any victory, any sign of our intelligence, no matter how minute is something over which we can rejoice?”

Sad.  Very sad.

I’m not even going to dignify it by giving any of the obvious answers, nor am I going to ask you to do so.  If you take the time out of your day to read (even if it’s just blogs) then I know that you are able to come up with at least two animals which don’t have the letter “A” in it.

And then I think about all of the other pathetic things I see on Facebook:  “If you love your son/daughter more than anything in the world, repost this.”  Does someone get a dollar for every time it’s reposted?  Of course we love our children!  That’s just stupid.  I think I might have reposted one or two of those until I realized how dumb it is – about 5  years ago.  I mean, come on!

Actually, there have been a number of things with which I’ve completely agreed, but have managed to avoid succumbing to the lure of the siren song.  Now I just roll my eyes.  Of course, I appreciate my freedom.  Yes, I too hate cancer.  No, I don’t like animal cruelty, bullying, starving children, or abuse.  That doesn’t mean I’m going to repost your status.

Maybe I just don’t know the ins and outs of Facebook.  Is there a reason to be pithy and demanding that others repost your words across the Net?  Is it a pathetic cry for attention?  A way to get your username “out there”?

Whatever the reason, I refuse.  It’s just stupid.

Repost if you agree.

Leave a Reply

