Who Decides?

Okay. I’m taking issue again with society making decisions with which I don’t agree.

Before, it was bikini baristas. People were in an uproar because women were selling coffee in their bikinis. **GASP!!** I mean, really! They wash cars in their bikinis, play volleyball in their bikinis and roller blade in their bikinis – generally all out in public. Why is selling coffee within the confines of a building any worse?

The latest thing to get my panties in a bunch is an article about Miley Cyrus. She is wearing see-through pants without panties **GASP!!**
half-pants
http://omg.yahoo.com/news/miley-cyrus-goes-without-underwear-outrageous-sheer-pants-210000687-us-weekly.html

Um… she’s more covered up than those bikini-clad volleyball players! She’s probably more covered than some of the dancers in Dancing with the Stars. All of her secret bits are covered. Heck – she’s wearing far more than she did in her latest video!

I often run around in my nightgown while I’m in my home. For some reason, I feel less covered when I’m in my swimming suit, even though I’m far less likely to accidentally flash someone when I’m wearing swimming gear. Why is it that I feel as if I’m half-naked when I go outside in my fluffy, long bathrobe, despite the fact that I’m normally more covered than I would be in my every day clothes? It’s all just so odd!

Why are some forms of undress okay, while others are not acceptable? And who gets to decide that?

Leave a Reply

