Random Acts of Kindness

“Your greatness is measured by your kindness; your education and intellect by your modesty; your ignorance is betrayed by your suspicions and prejudices, and your real caliber is measured by the consideration and tolerance you have for others.”

William J.H. Boetcker (1873-1962)
Religious Leader, Influential Public Speaker

This morning, I’m wholly on board with random acts of kindness. I saw this video online:

http://screen.yahoo.com/simple-acts-kindness-143955223.html

For some reason, it didn’t go far enough for me. Yah – putting money in an expired parking meter is a great idea, but somehow it doesn’t seem like enough. That’s when I found this:

http://www.randomactsofkindness.org/kindness-ideas

I was really pleased to see that I do a number of the ones listed on the first page alone (or variations of them). And it’s not like I put any time thinking about it; I just do it. Doing my part to make the world a better place is just natural for me now. That realization felt really good. Is there more I could do? Of course, but for now, I feel good knowing that I am already doing so much. Maybe in time I can add some more.

What pleased me more is that my son does a number of them, too. Not only am I putting good into the world, but I’ve raised a young man who does the same. VERY proud Mama moment! I have raised a young man who has so much good in his heart that he very comfortably shares that good with others. Without thinking about it, without expecting anything in return, he does for others, even if they are capable of doing for themselves. He knows the joy of being a good person.

I love that!

The easiest thing I do on a daily basis is to smile at someone. Sometimes, a smile can help brighten someone’s day. During my time as a Mary Kay consultant, I learned the happiness I can give someone by complimenting them on something – a new outfit, a new hairstyle, a great idea of theirs, etc. Again, something so small can put sunshine in someone’s heart. They cost me nothing, but the other person’s gain can be great.

What one thing can you do today to make someone’s load a little lighter?

Leave a Reply

