Impossible?

How long should it take to write a book? A year? Two? Five? For those who haven’t written a book before, or even for those who have, the answer varies. To me, 2 years sounds like a good amount of time. Obviously, different factors will effect the outcome, but for someone with a job and family, I think two years sounds about right.

What about a week? Is it possible to write a book in a week? Two years ago, I would have said that there was no way a human being could write a book in a week, especially someone who works a 9-5 and is raising a child on her own. I’m here to tell you, it is possible. I just wrote a book in 8 days. Not a novella or a short story – a full, 50,000 word novel.

For those of you who don’t know, someone decided to challenge authors to write a novel in the month of November. It is called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). As of the moment I am writing this, there are 296,893 people who have accepted this challenge. They have dedicated one month of their lives to write a book.

I did it last year, but I figured it didn’t count since I was unemployed. I did it again last summer (Camp NaNo) but again figured it didn’t count because my son was with his father for the summer, so he wasn’t around to distract me. I decided to try it again. Could I write a novel in 30 days with a job, a son, and all of the other things that go on with life (eating, sleeping, keeping the house clean, etc.)?

I’m the kind who would rather be ahead than behind. I worked extra hard the first few days to get ahead in case something happened and I would miss a day (if one writes 1,667 words each day, you will have a novel by the end of the 30th day). When I realized how quickly it was going, I began to push myself. On Sunday (my last day) I wrote 14,260 words. That’s almost a third of a book. I can write one third of a book in a day! That’s crazy! That means, if I really pushed myself, I could write a complete novel (first draft, of course) in three days! How insane is that?!

What else could I do if I tried? What things, which would normally seem impossible, are completely within grasp if I just try? If I set a goal and push myself, what dreams can I make a reality?

What about you? What impossible goal do you have, which you could make happen?

How much better would this world be if we all started believing in the impossible and then got off the couch and made it happen?

Leave a Reply

