Down To It

Apparently, Mr. Socks didn’t know it was over. All day yesterday, he kept messaging me. I was brought up to be polite, so I replied each time with a polite response. This morning, he asked if I was upset about him standing me up the other night. So, being honest (as I believe is always best to do), I told him that I didn’t think we were a good fit due to our schedules not matching up. I figured I didn’t need to go into anything else. He apologized for disappointing me on Wednesday, to which I replied that I knew it wasn’t his fault. What I didn’t add was that if it were his fault, it would be different because he would be able to fix it. Since he has no control over it, it’s not going to change. There’s no fixing it, so there’s no point in continuing this.

He asked if he could come over tonight, to which I responded that I would be too tired after dropping my son off with his dad (a four hour drive) for “fun”. He said, “That’s what I figured.” I’m thinking those might be the last words I will hear from him. Oh well. I told him a month ago that when it was over, we didn’t need to make a big deal of it, or even have a conversation about it. It can just end, and I will know. So, if I don’t hear from him again, I guess I’ll know.

A part of me wanted him to say he wanted to see me, even if we couldn’t have sex, but he didn’t. I am just a booty call to him. Or, I was.

Of course, all of this had to happen while I’m at work. Luckily, I was alone in the room when it did happen. Tears fell, my nose ran, blah, blah. Thanks heavens I could get myself back to rights before anyone came back.

I thought the whole point of this casual crap was so that I didn’t get hurt. Yuck! This morning, I’ve (yet again) been ready to give up men completely. And then Mr. Cuddles steps in and is totally sweet. He’s going to come over so we can play board games this weekend. Yay!

1 Comment

  1. thenarcissistwrites

    Well I’m glad you have Mr. Cuddles! Too bad about the other guy though.

Leave a Reply

