New Ways

This last weekend, I enjoyed camping with my family and my guy, and then just my guy.  The first two days were fairly normal for me: my family, Grayland State Park, Indian Fry Bread, and Whale of a Cone in Westport.  I bought a key ring at the end of the last pier, lunch was a sit-down meal in town, and s’mores around a campfire.  Same ol’, same ol’.  Oh wait – we didn’t have an entire tent set aside for food this year.  Kinda missed that!

Here is what our little Campers’ Cove looked like this year:

DSC02839

Everything was normal for me.  And then my guy and I went on his part of the camping trip.  We went to one of his favorite campgrounds.  While I’d never been there before, I was up for an adventure.  When we found our site, this is what I saw:

DSC02846

Seriously?!  I can see the ocean from my campsite?!  How freakin’ cool is that?!  Okay – so we’re off to a good start.  That night, he made me dinner.  Now, keep in mind – at my family camp out, we have such gourmet meals as Foil Dinners and hot dogs.  This is what my guy made me for dinner the first night:

DSC02857

In case you can’t tell, that’s a bacon-wrapped filet minon, corn on the cob, and my mommy’s potato salad.  A meal fit for a queen!

The next day, we did stuff.  I mean, we really did stuff.  With my family, we go into Westport and hang out and then we play at the beach.   My guy had so much stuff planned for our weekend, we didn’t even get to do it all.

He took me to check out tide pools.  On the way, we saw all sorts of cool rocks, rock formations, and trees.

DSC02910DSC02911DSC02883DSC02912DSC02850DSC02913

And then we got to the tide pools.  Honestly, never having done it before, I had preconceived notions of what I was in for (aka – pretending like I was interested so he could enjoy himself).  I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed myself – hopping around on massive boulders, squealing like a little girl when the anemone suctioned to my finger, and taking pictures of things I wouldn’t normally see.

DSC02935DSC02914DSC02918DSC02920DSC02925DSC02934

Another thing I hadn’t experienced on this level was the clacking rocks.  On a previous hike, I heard a large boulder being shoved around by the raging river.  Gah-thunk, gah-thunk.  With all of the rocks on the beach, each time the waves recessed, the small rocks would clack against each other.  The more rocks there were in any given area, the louder and more steady the sound.  It was really interesting!

DSC02944

We went hiking, panhandling for gold, and checking out tadpoles.

DSC02887 DSC02905 DSC02903

And, of course, there was the peace.  It was a very good trip!

DSC02952

Leave a Reply

