Re-Affirmation

I saw this on Facebook the other day, and it has stayed with me since:

10294284_10152556303019523_4289388473332799404_n

I wondered who wrote it.  Was it a therapist who has counseled hundreds of couples and found those who followed this creed were able to make it through the rough patches?  Was there some massive study at a University which proved that couples with these qualities are the happiest?  Did it come from someone who had been in a happy, healthy relationship for 56 years and realized that these traits were what kept them together for so long?  Or is it just someone who thought these all made sense and made a good sound bite?

Whoever it was, they made my day.  I have fallen in love with the man mentioned above.  Reading that made my heart sing.  How lucky am I to have finally found him?  I am the one in a million who found a man who will hold my heart safe for the rest of my life and who will do whatever he can to make sure I’m happy.

We often say, “You don’t know me!” but it’s said in jest.  He knows me better than any man ever has.  He learns tiny details about me and he remembers them as if each part of me is the most important thing in the world.  The way he learns each bit of me and remembers them with such care makes me feel so incredibly loved and special.

I am a happy person by nature, but when I’m with him, I’m full of joy.  He makes me laugh like no man ever has.  He knows my sense of humor and revels in making me giggle, which makes us both happy.  I love laughing with him – silly giggles, intelligent humor – he knows just how to touch my funny bone and he does it frequently.

I could go on and on about how he is the man mentioned above, but that would take forever.  Not only does he fit the above picture, but he fits me perfectly too.  We are so in sync that it used to be surprising, almost startling.  I mean – I have a super power in which I take great pride.  It didn’t amaze him at all because he has the same super power.  How fun is that?!

We have recently joked about the fact that we’ve been married for 25 years.  In truth, we’ve only been together for two months.  When we look back at our first date or those first few weeks together, they feel like a lifetime ago.  We have bonded so completely and gotten to know each other so well, it’s as if we’ve known each other forever.  We are comfortable in our love, which makes it feel like we’re coming up on our silver anniversary.

Obviously, a successful relationship takes more than just what is mentioned above.  But knowing I have found a man who loves me in such ways just seems to make me smile.

Leave a Reply

