Extremists

I have a problem with zealots.  I’ve said that for years.  It’s funny ’cause I think I kinda was one when I was a kid, but now I see how being a zealot can hurt the world instead of healing it.

This morning, I saw another form of zealot and was reminded if how it can affect the world.

10703864_10154609925315367_4370687824943614296_n

Close-minded, fearful Americans currently think that Muslims are bad.  After 9/11, they fear an entire group of people who aren’t represented by that handful of extremists who completely missed the point of their religion, taking a part of it and twisting it to suit their own personal agendas.  Instead of looking into the religion to find out what it actually stands for, fearful people take a small snippet of it’s population (which doesn’t come close to accurately representing their beliefs) and judge.

With a quick search, I found this:  Islam is not a new religion, but the same truth that God revealed through all His prophets to every people. For a fifth of the world’s population, Islam is both a religion and a complete way of life. Muslims follow a religion of peace, mercy, and forgiveness, and the majority have nothing to do with the extremely grave events which have come to be associated with their faith.  I found it on this webpage.

Did you go to the page?  No?  Why not?  Because you already know that it is a peaceful religion?  Because you don’t have time?  Because you don’t care?

Or it is because you already have a set view of that religion and you don’t want to know what they have to say?  If that’s the case, isn’t that just as bad as being an extremist?  By intentionally remaining close-minded, we are continuing the spread of hate and fear.  People who bury their heads in the sand aren’t making this world any better than the extremists.

lol.  I had to laugh at myself.  I don’t watch the news or read a newspaper.  People in glass houses and all that.  I don’t watch the news because I don’t want to know about all of the terrible things in the world – they just bring me down.  My loved ones know to tell me of anything I need to know.

I don’t hide from things which directly affect me.  If I fear or don’t understand something, I usually try to educate myself on it, if possible.  I don’t want to be one who chooses to live in fear and ignorance.  Through my studies, I have learned that Islam is a loving, peaceful religion which reveres the same God and the Christian God.  I know that Witches honor nature, love, and the magic within us all.  I know that the Christian religion has a good foundation, but has been corrupted by man.

What have you learned through your studies?  How have you opened your mind?

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Kirk Cameron | publicinhiding

    Leave a Reply

