Creation

Yesterday was a bad day.  Actually, it was a really bad day while I was at work.  During the morning, something happened which had me nauseous, shaky, and about to cry.  In the afternoon, something entirely unrelated had me angry, offended, and struggling not to cry.

Thank heavens for my guy!  At lunch time, per the norm, I called him.  As always, he had me feeling much better.  Had he not, by the time the second incident rolled around, I would not have been able to keep the tears at bay and make it through the end of work. The moment my work day was over and I was in my car, I called him again, and he once again made me feel better.  He had me laughing within minutes.

A bit of the slime from the day still lingered, though.  What did I do?  I started baking.  I normally spend a lot of time in the kitchen.  I really enjoy creating food – dinners, baked goods, whatever.  Last night, the act of creation got me out of my day and into me.  I was able to scrape off the nasty ooze and relax into my evening, actually enjoying the rest of my day.

I believe being creative is very good for one’s soul. Whether it’s a masterful dinner, an artistic dress, a gorgeous greeting card, or whatever moves you, putting yourself into creating is beneficial to you on many levels.

The other day, I read an article stating that knitting is good for you. I crochet, but I believe most of the benefits are the same. In addition to all of the benefits mentioned in the article, I have something to show for it in the end – either something for myself or a gift to give a loved one.

“Rent” is my favorite rock opera. In one of the songs, it states, “The opposite of war isn’t peace – it’s creation.” How true that is. If we spent more time creating and less time destroying, this world would be a better place. Let’s create a strong youth instead of destroying them. Let’s create art instead of letting it wither away. Let’s create a joyful, loving, peaceful world instead of tearing it down.

What can you create today?

Leave a Reply

