Toxins

I saw this on Facebook today and wanted to share it with you.  It’s worth a listen.

Thankfully, I learned this lesson years ago.  I realized that I don’t deserve to have toxic people in my life and I removed anyone who was bad for me.  It was a freeing, peace-bringing, and loving act.

It freed me from years of pain.  Sure, I had endured years of stuff I didn’t deserve up until that point, but it removed that torture from the rest of my life.  It gave me the ability to say, “I am a good person who likes to be happy and healthy.  I deserve to surround myself with good people who treat me the way I want to be treated.”  It freed me from starting to think like they think.  It freed me from the bonds of so much unnecessary negativity.

It brought peace to my life.  No longer did I have to deal with the toxic behavior of others.  Once that drama and negativity was removed from my world, it left room for peace.  No more fighting or ugliness, just love and serenity filled my days and nights.  Not only did I no longer have to deal with the immediate bad behavior, but I wasn’t left stewing on it for hours afterwards.  There was just love and light.

It was a loving act, not just for myself, but for my children as well.  I had a best friend for years.  I tolerated her behavior because I believed if I loved her enough, she would finally stop hating herself and spreading that misery to others.  Whoa!  Rrrrt!  I realized that kind of thinking had to stop.  She treated me like crap, and then I went home and treated my kids like crap because I felt like crap.  That’s not who I am, nor is it who I want to be.  I had to release her so that I could be peaceful and loving around my loved ones.

Do I ever miss those from whom I walked away?  Sure.  Two of them were family to me (figuratively and literally).  There are times I think about them and miss them.  I guess I still love them.  But, that doesn’t mean they are good for me or have any place in my life.  Would I ever consider allowing them back into my life?  Two of them, no.  There is just too much water under the bridge and I don’t believe they would ever change.

However, I do still have hope that I might reconnect with one of them.  Not today or tomorrow, but someday I hope she realizes what she did to me and who she was, and comes to me with a sincere apology and a willingness to try to re-establish a relationship with me.

I’m not holding my breath, but I can hope, right?

Leave a Reply

