I Accidentally Lost FIVE Pounds!

Can you tell how excited I am?  Yay me!

Last week, Mr. C and I had his son for the week.  The poor little guy was sick for half of the time that we had him.  😦  Luckily, he doesn’t stay sick very long, and by the time we gave him back to his mom, he was feeling much better.  Yay!

However, it took it’s toll on me.  I wasn’t able to exercise due to the time his presence required.  I was sure that by the time I stepped back on the scale, I wouldn’t like what I saw.  Luckily, somehow, I had dropped five pounds during the week.  Woo-hoo!  I couldn’t believe it!

And then Mr. C said that he had replaced the batteries in our electronic scale.  Ah crap!  That means that I might not have lost that weight, after all.  Sad day.

And then this weekend happened.

On Saturday, we went to The Fair.  Yay!  Deep fried everything, bacon wrapped everything, and if it wasn’t deep fried or bacon wrapped, it was 95% sugar.  My kinda day!  I had cotton candy, I had a mini Reeces Pieces caramel apple (the Reeces were mini, not the apple), a cow chip cookie, a giant burger, two jugs of flavored lemonade, and a funnel cake.

On Sunday, I went to a BBQ.  Two types of baked beans, two types of sinful desserts, potato salad, macaroni salad, coleslaw, and spare ribs slathered in sauce.  Did you see anything healthy in there?  Nope – me neither.  But, I knew what I was getting myself into when I accepted the invitation, so I decided to enjoy myself.

After both of those days, one after the other, I tentatively stepped on the scale this morning.  Do you know what it said?  I had lost a pound!  Woo-hoo!  So now, I totally believe that I had lost those five pounds last week.  If I can lose a pound after the food-laden weekend I had, surely I could lose five while eating spinach and Greek yogurt.

Okay – I wasn’t completely honest.  Yes, I did eat all of the things I said.  However, I ate only small portions of each.  I had a nibble of the cotton candy, half of the burger, half of the cookie, etc.  I did eat the entire apple, but that’s fruit, so that doesn’t count, right?  😉

That’s the trick though, isn’t it?  Portion control.  Last week, when I lost my five pounds, I was careful about what I put into my mouth.  I still at the chicken pot pie, but I made sure it was no more than one serving and I paired it with a side of spinach salad.  Most of the dinners I made were created with whole, natural foods, and I ate a lot of greens.

It’s a good reminder that I know what I’m doing.  I know how to lose weight.  It’s all a matter of making up my mind to do it.  Hopefully, this time, taking care of my body will become a habit instead of a chore.

Do you hear the ominous music playing as I think about the upcoming holidays?

Leave a Reply

