No Politics Here

Okay.  If you’re on social media, I’m sure you’re just as tired of all of the political stuff as I am.  Or, maybe you’re not.  Maybe you thrive on it.  I, for one, am over it.

I mean, what’s the point of all of the trash talking?  It seems kinda pointless to me.  Why would anyone want to vote for anyone other than the candidate I’m backing?

I get it – we all feel really strongly about our candidate of choice.  I firmly believe that my guy is the only guy for the job.  And I feel that anyone who votes for anyone else must have something wrong with them.

But, that’s one of the great things about this country – freedom of speech.  We can go about, spouting any ugly rhetoric we want.  We can degrade any candidate with hatred and prejudice, thinking it’ll sway our friends and family.  We can pollute cyberspace with fear mongering and  outright lies in an attempt to make others think and feel as we do.

Another great thing about this country is that we have the right to vote.  Just for a moment, think of living in a country where you don’t have that right.  A violent, sadistic man gains power and then claims the right to rule for himself.  You have no say, you have no recourse.  You have to live life as well as you can, given the circumstance in which you find yourself, never having any say, nor your neighbors having any say.  You’re stuck in a dictatorship and you’re absolutely powerless.

In this country, there are countless of us who give away our right to say, we give away our power.  Honestly, I was one of them.  I was apathetic.  I used to hear, “If you don’t vote, you can’t complain.”  I was okay with this, because I really didn’t care what was going on in the world around me.  I was fairly oblivious by choice.

Today, I’m aware of the political options, and they terrify me.  Today, I know that if I don’t vote, it might as well be a vote for “the other guy.”  Think of what we could do if everyone made their vote count.  I saw this on Facebook the other day, and it made so much sense to me.

2015-11-11-1447264958-1653153-vote-thumb

It also saddened and frustrated me, which is why I’m sharing this blog with you.  What if that two-thirds are the people who believe in my candidate?  Please, please vote!

Even if you are voting for the wrong guy, at least you’ll know that you did your part.  At least you’ll know that you stood up to be counted and that you showed the world that you care about your country and what happens to it.

Leave a Reply

