Great… Again?

I’ve remained quiet on this topic for as long as I could stand, but the heartache I’m experiencing is just too great to stay silent any longer.

I don’t watch the news because it depresses me.  Unfortunately, all of that negativity has found it’s way onto my Facebook feed.  I’m on Facebook to keep track of my family and friends, but now I’m being bombarded by fear, hate, cruelty, and death.  That seeps into my soul and I find it hard to find joy in my life.

As far as I can tell, there are two reactions to such an overwhelming amount of hatred and death – numbness or activism.  We either try to shut it all out so we don’t have to experience the pain of knowing our fellow men are being pointlessly murdered, or we become enraged by it.

I’m having a hard time doing either.  I’m not one to anger easily.  I’d rather block it all out.  But sometimes, I just get too bogged down by it and it darkens my soul – which is where I’m at now.

I’ve been seeing “Make America Great Again” posted all over my Facebook.

151008102414-trump-hat-2-780x439

For me, it raises a lot of questions.  The first question is – When was it ever great?  Which idyllic era are we striving to recreate?

I’m going to assume that we’re working within Trump’s lifetime.  He was born in 1946.  I’m guessing he can’t remember an America before 1950, so let’s start there.

Sure, from one angle, the ’50s seem like a really great time.  Father makes enough so the mother can stay home and raise the children.  Everything clean and calm.

familydinner1952.preview

The problem is, that’s only one side of the tracks.  This is the side we don’t want to think about:

c98daa9ce971398c9f531fab3173bd01

That’s right – blacks and Mexicans were grouped with dogs.  Is that the “great” America for which we’re striving?  Or is it one of these:

I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but American has yet to be great.  America has great potential.  America has some great people and some great leaders.

But, America also has some very selfish people both in leadership and not in positions of power.  America is full of flawed human beings.  America can’t seem to get it’s head out of it’s butt.  America is broken and until the good people stand up and make America great, it won’t be.  One machismo-riddled, narcissistic, special needs-hating man with really bad hair won’t be able to change that on his own.

I watched “Tomorrowland” last night.  With the way I’m feelings, we all need to watch it and then use that as our new Bible.  (Christians – don’t get your panties in a bunch.  Take it as intended.)  If you haven’t watched it, I would encourage it, both for entertainment purposes and also to see how to make a better world.

In it, [spoiler alert] it tells us that we’re being poisoned by the media – that the media is actually pushing us to destroy the world and each other.  It kinda makes sense.  If I’m affected so greatly by the small amount of media that I encounter, how much are we all affected by it?  We see the horrors on the nightly news and we become angry.  Angry enough to hurt others?  Angry enough to make the world a darker place?  What would happen if we turned off the news?  What would happen if the news focused on the good instead of the bad?

The movie also talks about the two-wolf thing.

948746b84192614caeac9a6b7d94a6fa

If every one of us – every single one of us – fed the good wolf, how much better would this world be?  How much happier would we all be if we focused on love and hope and joy?  How much better would it be if the dreamers and the believers led the world?

Sorry.  I know I usually try to keep my blog positive.  Can you tell how much all of the recent murders have eaten away at me?

I believe the world can be better.  I can dream, right?  I feel silly for believing this, but why should I?  I know I’m not the only one who wants this.  John Lennon’s song “Imagine” always makes me cry, and I’m guessing others feel the same.  I think the world needs more people who can imagine a better world.

I’ve been striving to see the good in the world to try to overcome all of the pain in it.  I challenge you to be the good in the world.  Pass on the good.  We’ve all seen the ugly, angry posts of Facebook.  Instead of putting more of it out there, why not spread love and joy?  If we all – every single one of us – lived to spread love and joy, this world would be full of peace.

Okay – I’ll start what I hope will be a wave of love, compassion, and hope.  I’ll leave you with this:

ed7cb476408a8b390dbd50eb5288cd24

Leave a Reply

