Little Purse

When I met Mr. C, I was using my little purse.  My kids were grown, so there was no need for me to stash snacks or toys in my purse.  I’m relatively low-maintenance, so I don’t carry a bunch of make-up and whatnot with me where ever I go.  All I needed was a small purse for my wallet, a pocket pack of Kleenexes, a fingernail clipper and file (in case I ever had to break someone out of prison, you know), and a small bottle filled with a menagerie of pain meds.

And then I met Mr. C and all that changed.  I frequently found his massively thick wallet (throw away a receipt once in a while, huh?), his clunky cell phone in it’s chunky case, and his janitor-like set of keys in my little purse.   Usually, I wasn’t able to close it because it was overflowing with manly items.

It was time for an upgrade.

So, I went out and bought a normal sized purse.  When I’m not with him, the thing is practically empty, but the enormousness of it has come in handy from time to time.  I can sneak two entire (large) water bottles into a movie theater with that thing!

However, during the summer months and during the winter months, I revert to my small purse again.  During the summer, I either go hiking or to some local farmers’ market or festival of some sort.  Ramping up to Christmas, I go to tons and tons of bazaars and activities.  For all of these fun outings, I don’t want to carry around my ginormous bag, so I retrieve my small purse from the corner of the shelf in the closet.  I enjoy carrying it around – my non-bulky, non-heavy little purse.

A couple of weeks ago, I set my little purse back into it’s corner.  It made me a little sad.  It wasn’t because I was going back to my big purse – it was more that, now I have to weather the cold days with no fun outings on the horizon.  I’m a pansy, so I don’t like to hike when it’s hovering around freezing.  There really aren’t any festivals going on right now.  It’s just… life.  Boring, mundane life.

I guess it’s a good thing.  I’ve gotten more writing done lately than I have in a while.  More reading, too (I’m sure that has nothing to do with Mr. C being away on business).  My birthday is coming up.  Hopefully Mr. C has something fun planned.  Or, maybe I can plan something for us – a trip into the big city or something.  

It probably is harder on me since I’m a homemaker.  The only excuse I have to get out is to go grocery shopping.  Woo-hoo.  I’ve been looking into volunteering.  Maybe I should look more into that.

Leave a Reply

