I’m Glad I Hurt

I just got off the phone with Mr. C.  Well, that’s not actually true.  By the time you read this, Mr. C will already be home.  I wrote this blog a few days ago.  But, when I wrote this, I had just gotten off the phone with him.

And we both almost cried.  When it was time to say goodbye, we were both fighting back tears.  Damn – I miss him!

He’s been gone for over a week, and I ache from missing him.  It sucks!  Big time!

But, at the same time, I’m glad it hurts.  It’s better than the alternative.

During my parents dysfunctional marriage, our household was a much happier place when my father was away with the Army Reserves.  Because I witnessed that, I was able to recognize that my household was a much more peaceful, loving, and supportive place when my husband was away on business.  That was a first sign that my marriage was in trouble.

Now, I sit here, glad that I miss Mr. C as desperately as I do.  Despite our troubles, we still love each other.  We are meant to be together and we are supposed to be with each other.  Missing him as I do just solidifies that he is my soul mate.

So, like physical exercise – it’s a good pain.

Leave a Reply

