My First “Con”

I did it!  I went to my first “con.”  There are very few fan conventions to which I’d actually want to go, but there is one which I was super excited to be able to attend.  SupernaturalCon!  Woo-hoo!

If you just asked yourself what Supernatural is, I’m here to improve the quality of your life.

12-greatest-supernatural-episodes-supernatural-countdown-01

Supernatural is only the greatest TV show of all time!  It has hot guys battling the evil of the world, saving us from the apocalypse, all while battling their own personal demons.  They make us laugh, they make us cry, they make us root for them, even when they’re making world-destroying mistakes.

I’ve faithfully watched this show for over a decade.  I’ve turned two women onto the show, who are now just as avid watchers as I am.  One of those women is my sister.  A couple of months ago, she told me about SupernaturalCon, asking if I’d like to go.

Duh!

Knowing that CosPlay is a big part of conventions, we both made our costumes.  She dressed up as the Impala (the car is a full-fledged character on the show – even having two episodes dedicated to it).

IMG_3804

This is the Impala my sister was dressed as

I dressed as some random god who was on one episode once.

b61e3YB.gif

How do you think I did?  I hoped that people would know who I was supposed to be.  True fans knew.  I got a lot of compliments, and one young woman wanted to take a picture with me.  Yay!

IMG_3813.JPG

The teeth hanging around my neck let people know I wasn’t just some psycho running around, thinking it was Christmas.  I was a psycho killer.  🙂

I was amazed at how few people were in costume.  Either that, or their costumes weren’t very noticeable.  They might have donned some flannel and figured they were one of the main characters.  My favorite costumes were the ones who weren’t wearing flannel or a trench coat – those were the ones who’s pictures I wanted.

Neither my sister nor I knew what we were getting ourselves into, both being new to the “con” thing.  We had some disappointments (“the boys” weren’t there the day we were – sad day!)   And we were supposed to have our picture taken with “Death,” but it turned out that he wasn’t there that day – another sad moment for us.  We were both really looking forward to our photo op with him.

350px-Death

However, we did get a photo op which we weren’t expecting.  A friend of a friend wasn’t able to go, so we bought her photo op from her at a greatly discounted price.  Instead of taking a picture with a minor character who’s been on a handful of episodes (Death) we got to take a picture with one of the main characters – Castiel.  He’s one of the main four characters.

Supernatural

Cas is the one in the trench coat on the left.

My sister was far more excited about a photo op with Misha (Cas) than I was.  Since the beginning, I’ve been a huge fan of Jensen Ackles.  I mean, when you put Dean beside Cas, there really is no comparison.

 

I guess Misha’s kinda cute, but – meh.  He’s no Jensen.  I was still kinda excited.  I mean – it was my first photo with a real life star.  So, this should be cool.

And then we entered the room where the pictures were being taken.  You literally got about three seconds to pose and then you’re done.  So, while we’re in line, we were able to see him take a number of different pictures with a bunch of different people (limit of two people in each shot).  As I watched him, I realized that Misha is SO much cuter than Cas (that’s a really weird thing to say!)

148311814JM00129_Entertainm

Misha seems extremely comfortable with all of the fans, making each photo seem natural and each fan feel special.  Watching him with them made me extra excited for ours.  I actually squealed quietly.

The paperwork ahead of time told us that we needed to have our pose in mind before we approached him.  My sister saw one online that she liked.  He could hug me and then she would look jealously at the two of us.  Sounded cute.  However, it seems like Misha had another idea.  Here’s what we got:

17634394_10213625789347343_8464663071048892514_n

He’s tugging on my necklace made of bloody human teeth.  lol!

I think it’s SO cute!  I just love it!  Sure, I look fat and frumpy and my sister looks all sexy and badass, but I still love it.  It’s currently my profile pic on Facebook.  I don’t know of anything that will knock it off its throne.

So, all in all, we enjoyed ourselves.  We learned what cons are like.  We learned that the main stars are only there on Sunday.  We learned that photo ops are totally worth it, if you can afford it.

And we got to FanGirl for a day.

Oh – and I developed a FanGirl crush on Misha.  Mr. C seems okay with it.  Yay!

Leave a comment