Mom’s Rainbows

For those of you who don’t know my mom, I’m here to tell you that she’s the cutest ever! She’s almost always happy, she’s fair and impartial, and I’ve never heard her say anything negative about anyone – including my father (who everyone else badmouths!)

She has many qualities which I wish I could have.  She’s a great example of what a mother should be.  She’s also a really good friend.  I consider myself really lucky to have her as my mother.

Mother (that’s what I have called her since my teenage years) lives in the family home in which she grew up when she was little.  The living room has a ginormous picture window which looks out at Lake Washington and some small mountains behind it.  The big reason she loves her home so much is because of the view.

We live in Washington state.  The weather lady said that in the month of April, we’ve had four days without rain.  FOUR!!!  And it looks like there won’t be many more before the month is up.  In the last six months, we’ve gotten more rain than we normally get in an entire year.  Ugh!  Those of us who grew up here are fairly used to rainy springs.  It is what it is, right?  However, even those of us who have webbed feet are getting sick of the rain.

Mother’s reaction to all of this moisture?  She excitedly shares pictures of that day’s rainbow to her loved ones.

IMG_3846

I’ve received a number of pics of the rainbows she gets to view from her front room.  She’s so stinkin’ cute!

We’ve all heard it before.

rainbow

It may seem cliche, but for my mother, it’s a way of life.  She can find the joy in any situation, the good in any person.  Is she happy because she chooses to look for the rainbows, or does she look for the rainbows because she chooses to be happy?

Whichever it is, it all comes down to choice.  We can stand in the rain and cry because we’re getting wet or we can splash in the puddles.  We can bemoan the fact that we are getting a sunburn, or rejoice in the Vitamin D we’re getting.

Happiness is a choice.  I firmly believe that.  By focusing on the negative, my life will be bad.  If I look for the positive, I am much happier.

I once had a friend tell me that you can restart your day at any time.  You’re having a bad day?  Restart it.  Intentionally make the rest of your day great!  If I’m having a hard time being happy, I can take a moment to write down five things for which I’m thankful.  Focusing on what’s good in my life takes the power out of the negative.

Today, instead of dodging raindrops, I will look up for the rainbows.

Leave a Reply

