Fighting Himself

So my ex husband is up to his shenanigans again. Apparently, this time he has decided to fight himself.

He wants something. It is something to which I agreed months ago. This past weekend, I was acting upon our agreement.

But he’s not happy.

For some reason, in his mind, I am not abiding by the agreement. If it weren’t so sad, it might actually be funny. He sent a statement to an arbitrator, citing exactly what he wants. In the same statement, he … Jeez – how do I even say it? Um… he is making a demand of me which completely goes against the other demand he has made of me and by doing so, proving that my actions were correct. I’m not arguing with him – he’s arguing with himself.

I’ve encouraged him to take the issue to a trusted, logical friend to help him understand it. If he goes through with mediation, I will do everything in my power to see that he pays the entire bill, since I’m not arguing. He wants to go to arbitration, paying hundreds of dollars to fight with himself.

If he was just a little smarter, he might be able to figure this one out. I’ve tried explaining it to him, as has our son. Either he isn’t able or he doesn’t want to understand that he’s supporting my truth by making his demands. It’s astonishing, honestly.

I think what it is, is that he has nobody which whom he can argue. Since I’m not arguing with him, he has to create an argument, where there is none. He can’t simply live in peace.

The whole matter is really sad, actually.

Leave a comment